Learning Basic Calligraphy for the Second Time

I’ve recently rekindled my love for calligraphy and art. Almost a year ago, I took up a calligraphy workshop so I could create our invitations on my own. But even though I kept practicing, I was always frustrated with how everything turned out. And as advised by Lindsey from The Postman’s Knock, the best way to get started with calligraphy is to practice faux calligraphy– which worked really well for the names I wrote on our custom envelopes made from kraft paper.
The one above was a practice piece I did from last year, the bottom is from a few days ago
Fast forward to 10 months later, I found myself with lots of time to spare and a new hobby to get involved in. One day, I started putting out my nibs and pen and just started to write. I was very pleased with some of the work I did so I decided to join a refresher course on Basic Calligraphy. Thankfully, there was a class available for that day. I joined the 3rd Basic Calligraphy Workshop offered by Coy Barredo a.k.a. Coyligraphy which was composed of only 4 students (myself included). As I worked through the drills, the other women kept saying they were so envious of my work– little did they know that it was already my second workshop. I was also impressed with how my hand control has improved since ten months ago. I just kept explaining to them that I’ve been practicing inconsistently for the last 10 months and that really was the trick to it.
Photo from Coyligraphy’s Facebook page
I learned a lot from Coy– she was such a very helpful teacher. It also helped a lot that she was a fellow Ilongga, who hailed from a northern city of Negros just a few hours drive from Bacolod. I was happy that she answered all my questions; especially the ones where I struggled a lot on. She even let me practice connecting the small letters of the alphabet in one line– something I found really hard to do since we weren’t able to practice this from before.
Coy is on her 4th Basic Calligraphy Workshop now and she’s offering it again to a limited number of students. Even though I have attended two workshops of the same topic, I found that each calligraphy artist had her own style and teaching to share. The first workshop I attended was by Alexis Ventura a.k.a. Ink Scribbler a.k.a. the woman behind the beautiful typography in Chiz Escudero and Heart Evangelista’s wedding. Alexis specialized in freehand modern calligraphy while Coy was more into the traditional Copperplate/Spencerian style. Coy’s class was limited to four students whereas Alexis’ had about 15 students in one cramped room.
Photo from Ink Scribbler’s Facebook page
I was able to learn that when doing calligraphy, you really need a lot of space and that the environment should be fitting to your mood. These things really affect you. But more important than that– practice, practice, practice. Quoting Alexis on this one: “Practice makes progress.”

 

The lyrics to Seve 
Speaking of mood, I really love listening to Tez Cadey’s Seve when I’m working on a piece. What’s your background noise?
Leave a Reply

