Oh Happy Food DIYscoveries: March-April 2016

So this is the first time I’m making this. Before, I used to write reviews about restaurants individually so now I decided to make things different. Instead of writing about a restaurant, I decided to share my recent discoveries (Oh Happy Food DIYscoveries) of particular dishes in several restaurants. I thought it would be better to do it this way so I can remember which dishes I enjoyed eating in the last couple of weeks. Hopefully, this will turn into a monthly thing or even a weekly post. Here goes!

Three-Cheese Skillet Lasagna (P175 Light)

Mooshi Green Bar, Cebu IT Park

Whenever I feel guilty about eating anything with gusto, I make my way to Mooshi Green Bar. Thankfully, they have a branch in Cebu IT Park so I can just go during my lunch break. Apart from their Vegetable Chips, I love to eat their Three-Cheese Skillet Lasagna. I only go for the Light size since I’m just after a small lunch plus didn’t want to spend too much. Surprisingly though, their light size was already very filling that I have a difficult time finishing everything from my plate.  It didn’t come with any meat in the middle layers of lasagna. Instead, they used oyster mushrooms. After eating, you get that guilt-free feeling knowing that what you ate was healthy and fresh.

 

Guyabano Ice Cream (P60/scoop)

The Buzzz Cafe, Robinson’s Galleria Cebu

I got to try The Buzzz Cafe’s homemade ice cream and it was delicious! It was like no other ice cream I’ve ever tasted. I picked the guyabano flavor since it intrigued me the most. You could taste bits of guyabano with a cool creamy mix. It didn’t taste at all like your typical commercially bought ice cream. Other flavors included ube, mango, avocado, langka, durian and many others.

Photo from Bohol Bee Farm Facebook

Pistachio Silvanas (P65 for 2)

Briquito Silvanas, Sugbo Mercado

My first time at Sugbo Mercado was a huge disappointment. I expected to be overwhelmed with new flavors and to meet home cooks who had a huge passion for their product. Unfortunately, it wasn’t the case. I was so disappointed to see that the stalls were similar to one another and did not even offer that much options. This saddened me since I’ve always loved food markets and have found great foodie friends from the food markets of Manila.

Fast forward to a month later and I’ve been counting the days to the weekend just so I could go visit Sugbo Mercado once again. One of my recent discoveries is Briquito Silvanas who had a variety of flavors to choose from. Hands down, the best silvanas I’ve ever had are from Dumaguete’s Sansrival. But no doubt about it– Briquito Silvanas’ Pistachio Silvanas are a very close second (if not, a tie).

Photo from Briquito Silvanas Facebook

Pad Thai 

Banana Pancake Trail, Sugbo Mercado

There’s a big reason why so many people line up for Banana Pancake Trail just to wait for their Pad Thai. The taste of their Pad Thai is similar to the real thing and easily on my top two places where to get delicious Pad Thai. Oh, they also sell Fried Insects although I haven’t tried it yet.

Photo from Banana Pancake Trail Facebook

Garlic Parmesan Chicken Wings (P120/Platter)

21 Dubs Flavored Chicken Wings, Sugbo Mercado

Another delicious find you’ll discover at the Sugbo Mercado is 21 Dubs Flavored Chicken Wings. I was able to try their Buffalo Wings and the Garlic Parmesan Chicken Wings. They were both very delicious but since we decided to roam around, we weren’t able to try the chicken while it was still hot. Even so, the taste was already there and delicious. We’ll definitely be going back for this!

Photo from 21 Dubs Facebook

How about you? What were your recent food DIYscoveries that you thoroughly enjoyed? Do you agree with the dishes on our list? If not, recommend your top picks and we’d love to give it a try!

Leave a Reply

